Tech-Savvy Youth: Insights from Observing the Next Generation

Written by:

I had a rare privilege of hosting my niece. While she was around, I couldn’t help but observe her to learn a number of lessons from her. I sure did learn a lot; I will share a few with you and keep the rest for some other time.

Apart from unlocking and navigating through her mother’s phone, she also ‘colonized’ her laptop. From time to time, she would be on the laptop that I couldn’t help but feed my curiosity about such closeness with the laptop. For the phone, most times it is the game or cartoon, but for a laptop it was a different mission for my niece.

I found out that she has already started coding. Apart from being able to code, she also draws and paints, emphasizing her dream to become an artist.

As I thought about our interaction, I couldn’t help but recall the first time I saw a computer. It was a desktop- I didn’t even have up to a minute on the system because we had to take turns. It was my first year in Senior Secondary School.

What we’re exposed to often influence our perception about life and our growth.This explains why we do find things hard to believe or do- because of our level of exposure to those things. Sometimes, we even abuse the opportunity because we have been long deprived.

While I observed my niece navigate through her mom’s laptop, I couldn’t help but marvel at how she could do so much at a young age. Exposure is key in our becoming.

Whatever name we choose to tag the younger generation, I am of the strong opinion that we guide them and help them leverage on the positives and advantages that whatever invention that is synonymous with their generation has got. Things have long changes, we are only seeing the manifestation- don’t be caught unawares.

 

Kindly drop your comment…