I once asked a friend:
“For how long can we be friends?”
Then came the reply;
“For as long as we want.”

An excerpt from my previous book, Reflections (pg. 25), a poem inspired by a conversation I had with a very good friend.

During one of my recent trips to Lagos (Nigeria), my aunt asked that I accompany her to visit a long-time friend who resides in Lekki. I was initially reluctant because of the distance and particularly, the Lagos traffic, as much as I could, I tried not to make my reluctance obvious (laughs). Thank God I went because I learnt some lessons; a few of which I will share with you briefly.

As we set out on the “journey”, the clouds began to call for some attention…thank God it never poured. As we moved on, I could sense some excitement oozing out of my aunt, the excitement of seeing a very good friend after a very long time (they’ve been friends for over 30 years). That got me thinking, 30 years…wow! Of course, I’ve seen people who have been friends for over 40years, but the excitement was one of the things that caught my attention. It suggests that they must have been really good friends back then. As my aunt told me about her friend it became more obvious that my earlier observation was not wrong.

At last, they got to meet and it was excitement from both ends. This time it could not be hidden; hugs, smiles and joy. They were both so carried away by the joy of seeing each other again after many years. I had to give them some time to do the reunion rituals before intruding with a “good afternoon ma” as she replied warmly, “how are you my dear?”

Later on, my aunt introduced me to her beloved friend and she was glad to inquire further- about what I do and some other basic questions. As we got to my aunt friend’s house, while she (aunt’s friend) was trying to get us some refreshments, my aunt came to me with her phone and said, “oya, snap me and my friend…”

I could feel the sincerity and ingenuousness in their eyes as they related with each other. Though they had not seen for a long time, their conversation flowed even as the gist went on and on. Although my aunt had told me earlier that we would not stay long, it was difficult for her to leave, even after I told her we had spent over two hours, she couldn’t believe it. It was as if they should be in each other’s company for more hours, but for the typical Lagos traffic and some other pressing matters to attend to.

In closing, let me share with you, the last stanza of the poem I shared above:
Friendship is for both parties
It’s shouldn’t be a one man business
You both have to be willing to pay the sacrifice
Your sacrifices determine the life span of the friendship.

Thanks for your time!

Adeniran Bamisaye
whatsapp: +2348024552797
BBM: 515F4084
Twitter:@DKingzpen
Email: Adexbam2002@yahoo.com

5 responses to “Who are my Friends- Part 7”

  1. kehinde Avatar
    kehinde

    Ummmmmm that was a great one…mayGod keep my friends for me

    Like

  2. Adeniran Bamisaye Avatar
    Adeniran Bamisaye

    Amen!!! Thanks for your time, Kehinde.

    Like

  3. Allen zito Avatar
    Allen zito

    That moment when you start feeling that your true friend is a member of your family…Great lesson learnt

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mercyoluwaplenty Avatar
    Mercyoluwaplenty

    friendship is swt wen its true..well-done swt@

    Like

  5. Deoye falade Avatar
    Deoye falade

    So true. There are people you don’t see for decades and it looks like they never left when you meet again. True friendship like you said, requires dedication and attention from both parties. The moment one person stops caring, it’s over.

    Liked by 1 person

Kindly drop your comment…