The Turning Tables of Professional Growth: A Reflection

Written by:

Some time ago, I undertook a project for someone, and after overcoming a series of challenges, we successfully completed the work. The initial complications were, unfortunately, attributed to the person who had initiated the project.

While perusing the client’s acknowledgment page, I was moved by how he eloquently expressed appreciation for my contribution to the project’s completion. It not only humbled me but also provided a rare opportunity to reflect on some profound aspects of life.

Life has a way of turning tables: Years prior, this same client was once my boss, a leader who, at times, made my colleagues and me contemplate quitting. We resorted to reading books on dealing with difficult people and sought solace in prayer.

During our professional collaboration, he discovered that I already held a master’s degree. Little did I know that years later, he would require my assistance. This realization has been a constant source of reflection for me. Life is a mystery, fragile and unpredictable, urging us not to harbor grudges, regardless of past interactions.

Throughout our time working together, I gleaned valuable work ethics from him. These principles have since become a part of my professional ethos, adapted to align with my personality.

Witnessing the ebb and flow of circumstances in life has been a humbling experience. When the table turns in your favour, it isn’t an opportunity for revenge; rather, it’s a chance to demonstrate personal growth. Life consistently tests our maturity, and how we navigate these tests often influences our future outcomes. I hope this reflection serves as a reminder for someone to handle life’s inevitable changes with wisdom and foresight.

Kindly drop your comment…